Update: I found MORE Feminists in Cook County

My last post about feminism in Cook County was so much fun to put together (if you have not read it yet the rest of this post will make no sense so take a look real quick!)

I was able to connect with people I never expected to connect with. Not only just connect but sit down and talk about feminism and it’s connection to my community. It doesn’t get much better than that.

But then it did.

This past Saturday our local Violence Prevention Center hosted a Lunafest event. First of all if you ever have a chance to go to a Lunafest film festival event GO GO GO. It was my first and it was incredibly inspiring.

At the event I was fortunate to display the images from my project. All the people in the community who attended were so receptive and eager to talk to me about their experiences with feminism and the community.

At the event we set up a space for people who wanted to add their own picture to the project. The following twelve photos reiterate the amazing place that is Cook County.

Just when I thought I was done with this project Cook County surprised me again.

IMG_1891

IMG_1896

IMG_1913

IMG_1914

IMG_1917

IMG_1918

IMG_1919

IMG_1920

IMG_1921

IMG_1923

IMG_1925

IMG_1926

I will always want to fight for the all reasons people in this project have stated. I will always want to talk to other people about feminism and equality and connect on that level.

It made me realize that my work with this project will never be done.

I need feminism because…

One comment

Leave a Reply

